Saturday, March 22, 2008

Cure Covers

"Well we all know disintegration kicks ass...i'm so obsessed with it i decided to cover it's mostly acoustic and can be heard on my myspace page. hope you'll like it."
(Thanks Sorell)

"Last night at the My Coke Fest in Johannesburg, South Africa. Good Charlotte included a cover of "Lovesong" in their set. It was actually pretty good and probably the closest we'll ever get to hearing The Cure in South Africa."
(Thanks Andrew)

Greatest Hits on SHM-CD too

From CDJapan:

The Cure/Greatest Hits[SHM-CD] [Limited Release] CDA
3333 yen US$33/100.53 Release Date:2008/05/28
Description:SHM-CD reissue featuring the 2001 edit of this release. The high quality SHM-CD (Super High Material CD) format features enhanced audio quality through the use of a special polycarbonate plastic. Using a process developed by JVC and Universal Music Japan discovered through the joint companies' research into LCD display manufacturing, SHM-CDs feature improved transparency on the data side of the disc, allowing for more accurate reading of CD data by the CD player laser head. SHM-CD format CDs are fully compatible with standard CD players. This release is also part of the 200-album SHM-CD Series Campaign from Universal Music Japan.

Close Encounter in Paris

Lisa and Dave meet The Cure in Paris.
(Thanks Lisa)

Friday, March 21, 2008

Cure on MadTV repeats

The Cure episode of MadTV will be airing twice on Comedy Central (US) this weekend:

Friday (3/21) at 12:30pm eastern / 11:30am central. (30 min. edit)
Saturday (3/22) at 7am eastern / 6am central. (Full show)

Cure history note: The band played Maybe Someday and Inbetween Days. This performance was recorded on Feb. 18th, 2000 and aired on Feb. 26th, 2000.

Thursday, March 20, 2008

Cure beat Nirvana, lose to Modest Mouse

In the Modern Rock Madness competition, The Cure beat Nirvana (around 70% - 30%). They now advance to meet Modest Mouse tonight at 8:30pm eastern / 7:30pm central / 6:30pm mountain / 5:30pm pacific. Vote!

Update: Voting for The Cure vs. Modest Mouse has started!
The Cure is being represented by Fascination St. and 10:15 Saturday Night.
The Cure is leading, but Modest Mouse is closing in, now about 50/50.
Modest Mouse killing The Cure 84% to 16% with 8 minutes left.
Modest Mouse wins 68% to 32%. Robert just couldn't hit the 3's.

(Thanks Steph)

There's nothing left but...

Faith live in Rotterdam on March 18th, 2008.

Fingers and toes are crossed (and candles and bonfires lit, Olivier!) in hope that we finally get the full Faith encore tonight. It's the last chance for Europe, will they play it?

Wednesday, March 19, 2008

Pitchfork reveals another new tribute cd

I've already posted about the one from American Laundromat Records, but Pitchfork has an article that says Manimal Vinyl has one coming out too.

Telegraph article

New article in today's Telegraph.
(Thanks Darrell)

Time Out London article

There's an article in Time Out London that claims the new album is entitled 'Ultra'. Before you get excited or upset by this title, consider these other claims they make:

- None of the new songs have been played live. (False)

- This is the first UK show since 2000. (False)

In other words, don't bet the house that 'Ultra" is the album title.

(Thanks Perfect.Murder)

Skinner Sessions 81 to air next week

"The catalan radio arrels 95 FM PERPIGNAN in france will broadcast next week the skinner session of the cure (that have never been broadcast since 81) during the emission ARRELS DEL ROCK (on wednesday 19H05/20HO5 and on saturday 21H/22H). you can listen that on his website too"
(Thanks Romain)

Wild Mood Swings

From the ridiculous: Robert plays kazoo in Antwerp.
To the sublime: Faith in Paris.
(Thanks Eric)

Cure in Modern Rock Madness

"The Cure go up against Nirvana tomorrow, March 20, at 2.00 p.m. in's Modern Rock Madness. Vote online at"
(Thanks Steph)

Prayer Tour pass auction

The wonderful Julianne Regan (from All About Eve, Mice) needs a new Mac, so she is putting some personal memorabilia up for auction, including her after show pass from the Prayer Tour show in Dublin, Ireland on July 15th, 1989:

Monday, March 17, 2008

New album on June 3rd?

From a reliable source - Universal has changed the expected release date of the new album from May 5th to June 3rd.
(Thanks Friend of COF)

Sunday, March 16, 2008